Skip to content

“Body says no” – Training for the London Marathon 2017

February 4, 2017

Show your support by donating herehttps://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/astridhall-marathon
I’m on my way to the London Marathon ‘Meet the Experts’, it’s 6:30am so I thought “time for a blog”.
With 78 days to go and having signed up for the Reading Half Marathon in 6 weeks, training is constant but this week I pushed too hard and sometimes you just have to listen to your body.

When I do my 6am fasting runs I will push as much as I can to keep running, even if it’s a light jog it just can’t be a walk. This week my body told me, “No” and sometimes that’s just the way it is. I have done over 7.5 hours of activity since Monday and if you view my fitness week as my watch tracks it, 9.5 hours (Sun-Sat). I’ve been getting up early and work hard in a professional capacity, and sometimes your body just needs a rest.

I’ve cycled, played 3 hours of netball, ran (10.94 miles of morning fasting runs) and done some trusty Zumba! Nearly 3 weeks ago I pulled something going from my groin through my inner thigh (please comment if you know what it’s called?) and I’ve still not recovered, which is really getting my running warm ups, down as the pain only alleviates when I’m properly limbered up. If I stop it can really put a damper on thing as it ceases and the pain returns.

However, positives all round as I have my first podiatry appointment on Tuesday to check my support trainers and get an insole for my flat feet, which are causing me knee and back problems. Although if after all this correction I still have pain then there is a bigger problem lurking in my body.

I’ve also got my next sports massage coming up to loosen my calves, which are unbelievably tight due to my flat feet. Although my physio advised I need these every two weeks! This isn’t just a case of organising them around my busy schedule but anyone who’s had a sports massage will know how much it costs and the unpleasant experience that befalls you.

Last Sunday though, I did a solid 15 mile run. I left the house with the plan to do 14 but I pushed that extra per cent to be well on track to reach 22 mile runs well before the marathon, and having a couple of weeks to train at this distance. Although last Sunday’s run wasn’t all warm fuzzy feelings throughout.

As I started my run, and you may remember from my last blog, I decided to become more conscious of how my foot was striking the ground and, to my understanding, I am doing less heel strike because I am taking smaller steps when I run. Those who know me are well aware of my long legs and so a long stride always felt natural until I was advised (from a running shoe shop assistant) that it might be causing more impact and more pain. My advice, “only listen to your physio”. As soon as I increased my stride on Sunday, although harder, I went quicker and had a more natural heel strike as a result.

From this turn of events, the tendon on the front of my ankle went extremely tight and I had to stop to shake it out! But this worked and despite the pain of warming up (with my groin injury) and the tight ankle less than 2 miles in, I knew I could do it. 13 miles later I was enjoying a hot shower and rest!

So what’s next in my training plan? As I’m only loosely basing what I’m doing on picking and choosing nuggets of advice and readings, and creating something that suits me. I’m hoping to achieve 16 miles this weekend, but where, I don’t know. I like to run in circles if I can as I find going back on yourself feels like you haven’t achieved anything.

Running Bristol to Bath is definitely in the pipeline as it’s a solid 16 miles on mostly flat and I can rest at the end with cake and a train home! Any suggestions for flat Bristol central runs? The Portway is a top recommendation of mine, as hills are what have pulled something in my leg, and the Portway is sceneic and mostly flat.

Stay tuned, comment your tips and happy running!

From → For Thought

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

