Skip to content

Why am I running a Marathon?

September 27, 2016

As many in my network may or may not know, I’m running the London Marathon in April 2017.

In order to get on the ballot I had to find a charity to support me and support them in return, so I now have an epic target of £1,650 to achieve before the big day, but why am I putting myself through the gruelling pain of training and immensely difficult task of raising so much money for charity?

I enjoy a challenge. I like to see how much I can push myself because I usually end up surprising myself. Similarly, there are a lot of things myself and others take for granted every day. The ability to go for a bike ride with friends, the ability to walk to the nearest corner shop or even just the ability to dress ourselves in the morning.

I know I am fortunate so not only am I treasuring that by seeing how far I can push my body to do an incredible achievement but I am helping raise money for those who don’t have things as simple.

Phab Kids is a great charity and it helps people of all ages enjoy greater independence and freedom. They help both disabled and disadvantaged people take part in challenging and fun activities; something they can’t normally do.

What I put my body through for the next 7 months, well, you don’t want to know. Already I am running 3-4 times a week, cycling wherever I can, doing 3 hours of netball a week and more! But what goes on behind closed doors is the organisation I am going through to raise the money I need.

I’m organising a monthly pub quiz, bake sales and even a netball tournament to help hit my grand total, so please, show your support by donating as much or as little as you can spare because I am working beyond my limits in every respect to make a difference.

Donate here – https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/AstridHall-marathon 

From → For Thought

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

