Skip to content

New York Internship – The Departure Countdown Begins

July 30, 2014

With just a week left to go my second to last week and recent weekend took a much calmer agenda than previous weeks, but still started with a bang.

Despite having to come into work on Friday, New York weekends start on Thursday nights over the summer and, technically, mine did too.

I started my evening with dinner at the famous Katz Delicatessen; a Jewish deli featured in When Harry met Sally and on the hit TV series, Man Vs Food. 

2014-07-24 18.21.32

Corned beef and pastrami sandwich at Katz Deli

After a very protein built sandwich I headed over to a gig at The Studio at Webster Hall just a few blocks from my accommodation. I was covering a performance by Twin Atlantic and it was fantastic! If you haven’t already given them a listen, then you should – Take a listen to Heart and Soul as it’s their biggest current track.

From Thursday, not much happened until Saturday night. Except for me making a quick stop at my favourite cheesecake place – Eileen’s Special Cheesecake. It’s definitely worth a visit if you are ever in the Big Apple.

2014-07-26 18.05.54-2

Eileen’s Special Cheesecake – Salted Caramel and Plain

Saturday was pretty relaxed in the morning but the plans kicked in around 1pm where I went to an end of program ‘Slip and Slide’ event. However, I had no intention of slipping or sliding, but the pizza was true New York style and worth making the appearance.

After being well fed I went off to meet a friend for coffee at ‘Eataly’. A highly acclaimed Italian restaurant in the Flatiron District and the machiatto was spot on.

Saturday evening was then spent celebrating my roommates 21st birthday. The most I remember is seeing my first rat on the streets of New York as the intoxication did well to eclipse my memory of most of the night. New York nightlife is buzzing wherever you go, so details are never really necessary.

Sunday brought out the nerdy tourist in me and was actually one of the best mornings I’ve had in New York. I decided to visit the MoMA as I have never been and my NYU ID gave me free entry, and it was totally worth it!

If I wasn’t so hungover and dizzy I would have spent more time there, but I still got to see Andy Warhol’s work and my favourite poster by god-knows who (some French artist), but I loved it.

2014-07-27 12.11.42

My favourite painting – Getting educated at the MoMA

We’ve now hit Tuesday, and with only two days of work, it’s starting to hit me. Yesterday the company I am working for hit a golden and glorious target so celebrations  with champagne on the deck were fitting for the occasion.

I have learnt more than job skills at my internship. I have learnt how to adapt to a new lifestyle and culture, how to represent myself to an already strong and established team, how to connect with my colleagues and just enjoy the overall experience.

My final week and weekend has a lot more planned. I hope to do a few little things I have always thought too insignificant to do before. Central Park Zoo is my number one priority as I have never been but have the sudden urge to explore and make the most of my final week here.

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram to see pictures of my last few inspiring moments, I promise that it will be worth the follow!

2014-07-29 09.32.30

Instagram of the view from the Brooklyn ferry port

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

