Skip to content

Pre-departure panic!

June 3, 2014

There will be many moments in life where you may incur set backs and stumbles. However, when this happens it’s certainly not worth crying about.

As you should be aware, I am embarking on the experience of a lifetime by doing a two-month internship in New York City. Although, right now, I am struggling to be excited as I am yet to receive my internship visa. It is a complex process and out of my control, but has meant that I have had to cancel my flights in preparation that my visa will not be ready in time.

Stressful hasn’t been the word. It isn’t easy when you come across such a saddening set back, but it won’t stop me from trying to think more positively.

Despite the fact it is costing me more money than planned for, and I will soon be house-bound as my car MOT runs out today (my original date of departure), I am having to focus on the benefits.

At least now I have more time to spend with my family, and I will still be pursuing my adventure, it is just a little more delayed than expected.

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 17.12.43

Over the next few days I will hopefully be put at ease knowing that my visa process is reaching its final steps. I’m packed and ready to go so getting stressed will just make my last days at home more depressing than they would have been.

If you ever find yourself in a similar situation, don’t panic; be prepared!

Make sure you have yourself a plan B and even plan C.

Find ways to keep yourself busy in the time that all you can do is wait.

And lastly, try to get yourself excited for your new adventure by making sure you are totally ready: Print off important documents, re-pack your bags at least three or four times, see friends, do some thorough research on your destination and check you’ve got your favourite book at hand for the flight.

I’ll see you in NYC..

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

